Primary School

THIS Primary is a joyful community of learners using a progressive American curriculum aligned to Common Core and AERO standards. We use project- and inquiry-based learning to promote engagement and understanding. THIS Primary is fun! Our unique educational philosophy is guided by developmentally sound, well researched programs. Each homeroom has a teaching assistant to support learning within and outside of the classroom. Our Homeroom teachers are well trained in teaching Reading, Writing, Social Studies, and Math, and our Specialist teachers are educated in and passionate about their content areas of Science, Visual Arts, Music, Chinese, and Physical Education. We all work together to build a community of 21st century learners who are passionate, curious, and creative.

DOWNLOAD BROCHURE

Watch The Video

Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself.

- John Dewey selected by Alicia Jones (Primary School Director)

The only person who is educated is the one who has learned how to learn ...and change.

- Carl Rogers selected by Jacob Von Seth (Grade 2 Teacher)

Education is the kindling of a flame, not the filling of a vessel.

- Socratesselected by Kate McLaughlin (Grade 1 Teacher)

There is music in every child. The teacher’s job is to find it and nurture it.

- Frances Clark selected by David Robinson (Primary Music)

A sense of order and predictability… enables children to relax, to focus their energy on learning, and to feel competent.

- Paula Denton & Roxann Krieteselected by Catherine Morgan (Grade 2 Teacher)

Educating the mind without educating the heart is no education at all.

- Aristotle selected by Kayla Driedger (Grade 1 Teacher )

Nine tenths of education is encouragement.

- Anatole France Monica Li (Primary PE Teacher)

Tell me, and I forget. Teach me, and I remember. Involve me, and I learn.

- Benjamin Franklin selected by Isobel Huang (Teaching Assistant)

I examine myself daily on three points: whether I have been honest in business transactions; whether I have been sincere with friends; and whether I have mastered and practiced what I have been taught.

- Tsang selected by Cassie Xiong (Teaching Assistant)

Why fit in when you were born to stand out?

- Dr. Suess selected by Wei Rong (Teaching Assistant)

Education is the transmission of civilization.

- Will Drunt selected by Maggie Cheng (Teaching Assistant)

Taking my life in my own hands.

- Unknown selected by Wu Huijun (Primary/Secondary Chinese Teacher)

Free a student’s potential and we will transform them into the world.

- Unknown selected by Wanyu Li (Teaching Assistant)

The aim of education should be to convert the mind into a living fountain and not a reservoir.

- John M. Mason selected by Connie Jian (Teaching Assistant)

Our Approach

All students must hold a valid, international passport to attend. Admission to THIS Primary is a three-part process. Students must have adequate grades from previous schools, pass an academic English exam, and complete an interview in English. The overwhelming majority of our students come with some level of Chinese language ability, but it is not required. Students coming from other international schools in which English is the primary teaching language are expected to take Chinese classes once enrolled. Applications are received on a rolling basis until class sizes reach capacity. Students are generally not accepted late in the academic year; however, waiting lists are established.

English is the main language of instruction at THIS Primary. Our students are expected to use academic and social English throughout the day, with the exception of during Chinese class. Our native English-speaking and native Chinese-speaking teachers work together to provide an immersive language experience for our students to practice our motto of “East meets West.” Both our English and Chinese programs are rigorous but differentiated for the abilities of our students. Our English Language Learning students receive English Language Support in class or in small groups to help close small gaps in the English reading, writing, listening, and speaking skills. Our teachers work to prepare students for the linguistic challenges of living in an increasingly connected world.

THIS Primary offers a variety of after school classes and clubs throughout the year. Classes and clubs are designed to support the THIS Core Values as well as provide learning in one of five areas: STEM, The Arts, Chinese Culture, Student Interest Groups, and Movement and Sportsmanship. Classes and clubs are offered across three eight-week sessions throughout the year. Some classes are year-long and others change with each session. We work with both outside vendors and teachers to provide enriching experiences for students after school.

When a student enters THIS Primary, they are sorted into a Spartan Family group. Our Spartan Families are comprised of students from Grades 1-5, and they participate in monthly activities together. This allows older students to mentor younger students and builds links and bridges across grades in our school. Siblings are placed in the same Spartan Family, and students remain in the same group for their entire time at THIS Primary School, allowing the students to develop deep and meaningful friendships with students outside of their classes and grade levels. Everyone looks forward to our Spartan Family activities!

Formed in 2014, our Parent Association is comprised of elected parent representatives across grade levels. Together, with administrators, they have monthly meetings, run a school store, fundraise for initiatives, organize support for classes and teachers, and host activities and events throughout the year. In addition, the Primary Parent Representatives meet with the Primary School Director twice a year to address growth, parent body concerns, events, and strategies specific to the Primary School. Our Parent Association also hosts our annual Talent Show and, beginning in 2018, our End of Year Carnival. Our Primary parents are actively engaged in our school community!

Subject Areas

Chinese Language

THIS Primary seeks to develop students who are fully proficient in both Chinese and English. Our Chinese program not only emphasizes Chinese as a tool of communication and culture, but also focuses on using and understanding literature, drawing on the rich traditions of Tsinghua University. The National Full-time Compulsory Education of Chinese Curriculum Standards guide the development of our Chinese units of study, and we use the textbooks published by Beijing Normal University Press. Our Chinese teachers in Grades 1-5 divide students in Chinese by proficiency into native or Chinese language learning classes.

English Language Arts

Our Primary students love to read and write!  In order to foster an inquiry-driven, creative love of literacy, our Primary School uses the Reading and Writing Workshop Units of Study developed by Teachers College at Columbia University. Students are taught skills and set goals for reading and writing based upon lessons that encourage personal growth. We promote risk taking in literacy, encouraging students to explore and master concepts across genres as they are ready while ensuring that they are working toward appropriate mastery of skills in their grade level. Our reading and writing curriculum is further woven throughout all other contents so that students can develop a deep understanding of literacy across subjects.

English Language Support

English is the primary language of instruction at THIS, and students must be able to speak, listen, read, and write in English prior to enrollment. We offer tailored, specialized English Language Support (ELS) during Reading or Writing Workshop for English Language Learning (ELL) students that qualify for these services in order to close small gaps that may limit proficiency. The ELS teachers work with the Homeroom Teachers to ensure that the ELS students are making progress toward meeting goals while also working within the framework of the California English Language Development Standards.

Mathematics

Math at THIS Primary is a hands on process that helps students think flexibly about the how and why of math as it moves from concrete fundamentals to abstract concepts. We use the Singapore Math’s Math in Focus series to guide our curriculum. Our Math program is further supplemented by Investigations and Engage NY activities and units throughout the year. Our students progress at a developmentally appropriate rate, and support and enrichment are provided as necessary so students truly develop an understanding of mathematical concepts as the relate to not only their assignments, but a variety of real world scenarios. Students in Grades 3-5 may also have the opportunity to join the THIS Primary Mathletes to enrich and expand their mathematical learning after school.

Instructional Technology

At THIS Primary, students are exposed to technology in ways that are appropriate and diverse. Students have access to shared iPads to use with lessons and activities across units, and all of our classes are equipped with and regularly use Smart Boards and projection technology. Primary School students also use the THIS STEAM lab in cross-curricular, inquiry-based learning. As students mature in their use of technology, they integrate and create projects and presentations using skills that they have developed. Our teachers teach using a combination of strategies that integrate technology when it best supplements or serves to best deliver content. In third grade students participate in a typing and computer basics class. In grades 4-5 they have a coding class to develop their coding skills. We offer After School Activities that teach in-depth use of technology and coding, and we will soon be introducing a robotics program at THIS Primary.

Science

Students at THIS Primary participate in hands-on, inquiry-based Science instruction led by a Science Specialist in our Primary Science Lab. Using FOSS Science, our Science program is well resourced, active, engaging, creative, and fun, and it is anchored in understanding, analyzing, and solving real-world problems.  When possible, Science is integrated into and integrates in other content areas to promote the transfer of understanding across the curriculum.

Social Studies

Social Studies is the cornerstone of the THIS Primary curriculum, and it guides the cross-curricular experiences of our students. Students begin each school year learning about themes in Community, adding depth and complexity to previous understanding with the start of each year. Using AERO standards and essential questions centering in thematic units, our Social Studies curriculum is consistently evolving and uses project-based learning to ultimately promote critical thinking about contemporary issues through historic, ecological, anthropologic, and sociocultural paradigms.

Physical Education

Physical Education at THIS Primary challenges our students to explore and develop skills necessary to live an active and healthy lifestyle. Our students develop Spartan Spirit as they learn coordination and control in movement, strategy, teamwork, and sportsmanship as they develop fundamental skills in learning a variety of sports. Students are able to expand their understanding of sports in our Sports After School Activity, as well as by participating in JISAC tournaments with neighboring international schools. 

Visual Arts

Visual art in the primary school focuses on discovery of and experimentation with art materials in a variety of mediums. The course is multi-disciplinary and project-based, and it uses inquiry-based discussion to introduce artistic concepts. Students are encouraged to draw on their personal ideas and experiences to create work that relate to them. Students are exposed to art from around the world and through history as they work to refine their skills, knowledge, and understanding. As students move through our program, they learn to plan and work collaboratively on small group projects. While using content-specific vocabulary, students are challenged to present their pieces, and provide verbal and written feedback related to their own and others’ work.

Music

Music in the Primary School utilizes the Orff and Kodaly approaches, focusing on active engagement, cultural diversity, and creativity in learning and mastering skills. Our music program is well resourced, featuring an ever expanding repertoire of exciting activities and instruments. It is multi-disciplinary, often incorporating and enhancing projects in literacy, Visual Arts, and Social Studies. At THIS Primary, our students learn to make and appreciate the music in everyday living. In Grade 5, students have the opportunity to select a beginning band instrument (Trumpet, Trombone, Clarinet, Flute, and Percussion) and participate in both the band and choir programs.

Interested in attending THIS Primary School?  Contact Admissions

小学部概况

清华附中国际部小学部对学生来说是一个快乐的学习社区,学生们使用符合美国共同核心州立标准和AERO标准的美国课程体系。同时,采用基于项目式和探究性的学习方法来促进学生的参与和理解。孩子在小学部的学习与成长充满欢乐!我们独特的教育理念是以健全的身心发展、完善的研究项目为指导。每个小学班级都有一位助教支持课堂内外的学习。我们的班主任在阅读、写作、社会研究和数学教学方面受过良好的培训,我们的专业课教师在科学、美术、音乐、中文和体育等各自领域也有丰富的教学经验,每一位教师对自己的教育工作都充满热情。我们将继续共同努力,为每一位充满激情、好奇心和创造力的学生创造最优质的21世纪学习者社区。

下载宣传手册

观看视频

教育不是为生命而准备的;教育就是生命;教育就是生活本身.

- John Dewey 小学主任Alica Jones 的教育寄语

一个人只有学会了怎么去学习和改变,他才称得上是一个受过教育的人。

- Carl Rogers 2年级老师Jacob Von Seth的教育寄语

教育是燃起火焰,而非灌输一个容器。

- Socrates1年级老师 kate Mclaughlin的教育寄语

每个孩子都有音乐细胞。老师的工作是找到并培养它。

- Frances Clark 音乐老师 David Robinson的教育寄语

秩序感和可预见性,让孩子能够放松心情,集中精力学习,并能得到自我满足。

- Paula Denton & Roxann Krieteselected by Catherine Morgan (Grade 2 Teacher)

仅仅教育头脑,而不教育心灵,就根本算不上教育。

- Aristotle 1年级老师 Kayla Drieoger的教育寄语

教育十有八九都靠鼓励。

- Anatole France 小学体育老师 Monica Li的教育寄语

给我讲过,我很快就忘记;给我讲解,我会记住;让我参与,我真正学会。

- Benjamin Franklin 小学助教黄海宁的教育寄语

“吾日三省吾身:為人謀而不忠乎?與朋友交而不信乎?傳不習乎?”

- Tsang 小学助教熊晨晨的教育寄语

你生来与众不同,为什么要跟从大众?

- Dr. Suess 小学助教魏荣的教育寄语

教育传播文明。

- Will Drunt 小学助教程然的教育寄语

自己的生活自己掌握。

- Unknown 小学中学中文老师武慧君的教育寄语

小学中学中文老师武慧君的教育寄语

- Unknown 小学助教李婉玉的教育寄语

教育的目的应是把人心转化为活的泉水,而不是贮水池。

- John M. Mason 小学助教焦健的教育寄语

我们的方法

申请者必须为外国国籍,持有外国护照以及有效的中国签证页;或者为港澳台永久居民,持有港澳台永久性居民身份证以及来往内地通行证(回乡证/台胞证)。申请入读一年级的新生必须在入学当年8月31日前已满六周岁。小学部的入学申请过程分为三个部分。学生必须在原学校取得符合入学条件的成绩,用英语完成面试并且通过学术英语考试。申请入读一年级的学生还要通过行为观察。我们绝大部分的学生都具有一定程度的中文能力,但这不作为入学必须的条件。入学申请采取滚动招生,直到达到班级最大人数限制。学校设有最晚的入学报到日期,并设有学位等待名单。

英语是清华附中国际部小学部的主要教学语言。 除中文课外,我们的学生将全天使用学术英语和社交英语进行交流。 我们的英语为母语的外籍老师和汉语为母语的中文老师共同努力,为学生提供身临其境的语言体验环境,以实践国际部“中西方文化相互交融”的教学理念。 在小学部,我们的英文授课和中文课程对学生的语言要求都很严格,但由于学生的语言水平存在个体差异,我们在课堂上或小组学习中会为有需要的学生提供英语语言支持,以帮助学生弥合英语阅读、写作、听力和口语能力方面的微小差距。我们的老师正在不断努力,只为让学生更好地面对联系日益紧密的世界所带来的语言挑战。

小学部全年提供各式各样的课外课活动。课程旨在支持国际部核心价值观,并提供以下五个领域之一的学习:工程课、艺术、中国文化、学生兴趣小组以及体育运动。学校每年提供三个为期八周的课程。有些课程是全年制的,有些则随周期而改变。我们的课程设置既有本校老师加入,也有校外老师参与合作,为学生提供丰富多彩的课外体验。

当学生进入小学部时,他们将选择一个自己喜爱的斯巴达家族,成为家族成员。我们的斯巴达家族由1-5年级的学生组成,他们一起参加每月的活动。由于每个家族的成员由来自小学不同的年级的学生组成,使得高年级的同学可以指导低年级的同学,并在小学部的各个年级之间建立联系和桥梁。不同年龄的学生汇聚在同一个斯巴达家族中,直到学年结束,使得大家能够向兄弟姐妹般互敬互爱、互帮互助,并建立深厚的友谊。这就是斯巴达家族的意义所在,每位学生都期待着我们斯巴达家族活动!

国际部的家委会成立于2014年,由各年级推选的家长代表组成。与学校管理人员一起,每月开一次会。同时,家委会参与经营学校商店,为各种活动筹集资金,组织对课程和教师的支持,并参与主持全年大大小小的活动。此外,小学家长代表们每年与小学部主任会面两次,讨论孩子的成长、家长关注的事项,以及为小学部的方方面面献计献策。我们的家委会还会举办一年一度的学生才艺秀,并且从2018年开始,还会举办我们的年终嘉年华。小学部的家长代表们一直非常积极地参与到我们教学和活动中!

课程设置

中文

清华附中国际部小学部致力于培养学生根植于中国文化,同时精通中文和英语两种语言。中文课程不仅强调中文是一种文化交流的工具,而且注重对中国文学的使用和理解,继承和发扬清华大学的优良传统。我们的中文课程以全国义务教育语文课程标准为纲要,使用北京师范大学教材。1-5年级的中文老师将中文学习者分为中文母语班和对外汉语班。

英语语言艺术

小学部的学生热爱阅读和写作。为了培养学生对文学的探究式学习和文学创造力,小学部引用美国哥伦比亚大学推出的阅读和写作工作坊。老师通过课堂教学,引导学生如何获得读写技巧,并采用鼓励学生成长的课程,来为学生设定个人目标。在确保学生已掌握符合本年级水平技能的同时,我们也提倡学生在阅读和写作等文学方面进行冒险,鼓励学生探索和掌握跨体裁的概念。此外,我们的阅读和写作课程是进一步编织融入在所有其他内容,以促进学生在跨学科中对文学的深入理解。

英语语言支持

英语是清华附中国际部学习的主要语言,入学前学生必须能够说,听,读和写英语。在阅读和写作工作坊中,为了能够缩小学生之间英语水平的差距,我们为有需要的学生提供帮助。英语语言支持的老师和班主任以美国加利福利亚英语发展标准为教学框架,携手确保同学们朝着语言学习目标不断努力。

数学

随着数学从具体原理到抽象概念的转化,小学部的数学课程着力于帮助学生灵活思考数学的方法和归因。我们以新加坡数学为课程纲要,以全学年的调查和参与课堂活动作为补充。让学生以适当的速度进步,并能够获得老师必要的支持和帮助,真正发展学生对数学概念的理解,因为这不仅涉及到书本作业任务,同时涉及到各种现实世界的场景。3-5年级的学生也有机会参加国际部小学部数学比赛以丰富和扩展学生的课后数学学习。

技术指导

在清华附中国际部,小学生能接触到多样化的技术支持。学生能够使用共享苹果笔记进行上课和做活动。所有班级配备和使用电子白板和投影技术。小学部的科学实验室用于小学生的跨学科和探究式学习。随着学生在技术使用上的愈发成熟,他们会利用自己掌握的技能,自主创建项目和演示。每当技术能够更好地补充或服务于所提供的内容时,老师就会帮助学生整合这些大家已经熟练掌握的策略,形成技巧组合。3年级的学生参加打字课和电脑基础课。4-5年级的学生通过上编程课来开发他们的编程技巧。此外,小学部同时提供课后课活动,让同学们对编程技术的使用进行更加深入的了解,我们很快会开设一个关于机器人的课程。

科学课

小学部科学课程为学生提供实践性和探究式的科学指导。在科学实验室中,通过使用Foss教程,使得学生感受到科学实验项目内容丰富,活力四射,充满乐趣。课程设置以理解,分析和解决现实问题为根本。在条件允许的情况下,科学课也会渗透其他学科,以促进跨学科间的理解。

社会研究

社会研究课程是小学部课程的基石,意在指导学生跨学科的学习。学生在每学年之初,学习以社区为主题的内容,随之在之前的学习基础上增加深入和难度。社会课采用美国AERO 标准,以主题单元的核心为根本问题,不断发展,并使用基于项目的学习,最终通过历史、生态、人类学和社会文化促进对当代问题的批判性思考。

体育课

小学部体育课致力于培养学生探索和形成有活力的健康生活方式。学生们通过运动、策略、团队合作、体育精神等方面促进斯巴达精神。学生们通过学习各种各样的运动以获得基本的体育技能。同时,学生积极加入体育课后课活动,参与国际学校的JISAC比赛,能够更好地扩展学生体育精神的理解。

视觉艺术课

小学部视觉艺术课专注于使用各种媒介去探索和践行艺术题材。这门课程是多学科和项目式的,使用探索式的讨论方式来介绍艺术概念。我们鼓励学生利用他们个人的观点和经历来创造相关的艺术作品。学生通过学习世界各地和横跨古今的艺术,提升他们的技巧,知识和对艺术的理解力。随着学生对这门课的不断深入,他们将学习如何策划和参与小组项目。同学们在分享自己的作品时,也面临一些挑战,如何使用特定专业词汇展示他们的作品,并为自己和他人的作品进行反馈。

音乐课

小学部音乐课使用Orff和Kodaly方法,在学习和掌握技能中专注于积极参与,文化多样,和不断创新。我们的音乐课丰富多彩,以有趣的活动和乐器为特色。音乐课融合文学,视觉艺术和社会研究多学科。在小学部,我们的学生会在每天的生活中创造和欣赏音乐。在五年级,学生有机会选择初学的乐队乐器(比如小号,长号,单簧管,长笛和打击乐器)以及参加乐队和合唱团表演。

有兴趣加入清华附中国际部吗?  联系招生办